Part 2 – Gwot Medal – Expeditionary and Service Design Changes!

Part 2 – Gwot Medal – Expeditionary and Service Design Changes!

GD Star Rating

If you missed part 1 of this GWOT Medal post you can read it here.

GWOT Medal Criteria – Expeditionary

Instituted: 2003
Dates: 2001 to present
Criteria: Active participation in, or support of, Operations ENDURING FREEDOM, IRAQI FREEDOM, NOMAD SHADOW or follow-on operations while deployed abroad for service in the Global War on Terrorism.
Devices: Bronze Star , Bronze Arrowhead

For deployed service abroad in support of Global War on Terrorism operations on, or after September 11, 2001. The Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal (GWOT Medal) is worn after the Iraq Campaign Medal and before the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal.

The Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal (GWOT Medal) was authorized by

GWOT Medal

Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal

executive order. The medal is awarded to any member of the Armed Forces who is deployed in an approved operation, such as ENDURING FREEDOM. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff shall designate the specific area of deployed eligibly per qualifying operation. To be eligible, personnel must have participated in the operation by authority of written order. Qualification includes at least 30 consecutive days or 60 nonconsecutive days, or be engaged in actual combat (hostile weapons fire is exchanged), or duty that is equally as hazardous as combat duty, or wounded or injured requiring evacuation from the operation, or while participating as a regularly assigned air crewmember flying sorties into, out of, within or over the area of eligibility in direct support of the military operations.

Personnel may receive both the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal and the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal if they meet the requirements of both GWOT Medal awards; however, service eligibility for one cannot be used to justify service eligibility for the other.

GWOT Medal Design

The Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal (GWOT Medal) was designed by the Institute of Heraldry. The medal is a circular bronze disc which displays a shield adapted from the Great Seal of the United States surmounting two sword hilts enclosed within a wreath of laurel; overall an eagle, wings displayed, grasping a serpent in its claws. The reverse of the medal displays the eagle, a serpent and swords from the front of the medal within the encircling inscription, “WAR ON TERRORISM EXPEDITIONARY MEDAL.” The ribbon is scarlet, white and blue representing the United States; light blue refers to worldwide cooperation against terrorism; gold denotes excellence. Participation in specific combat operations is denoted by three-sixteenth inch bronze stars. A three-sixteenth inch silver star is worn in lieu of five bronze stars. Effective 2005, the GWOTEM is no longer authorized to be awarded for service in Afghanistan and/or Iraq.

Expeditionary GWOT Medal Operations:

★ Enduring Freedom (OEF): 11 September 2001 – Date to be determined
★ Iraqi Freedom (OIF): 19 March 2003 – Date to be determined
★ Nomad Shadows (ONS): 5 November 2007 – Date to be determined                                    ★ Afghanistan
★ Bahrain
★ Bulgaria (Bourgas)
★ Crete
★ Cyprus
★ Diego Garcia
★ Djibouti
★ Egypt
★ Eritrea
★ Ethiopia
★ Iran
★ Iraq
★ Israel
★ Jordan
★ Kazakhstan
★ Kenya
★ Kuwait
★ Kyrgyzstan
★ Lebanon
★ Oman
★ Pakistan
★ Philippines
★ Qatar
★ Romania (Constanta)
★ Saudi Arabia
★ Somalia
★ Syria
★ Tajikistan
★ Turkey (east of 35 degrees east lat.)
★ Turkmenistan
★ United Arab Emirates
★ Uzbekistan
★ Yemen
★ That portion of the Arabian Sea north of 10 degrees north latitude and west of 68 degrees longitude
★ Bab el Mandeb
★ Gulf of Aden
★ Gulf of Aqaba
★ Gulf of Oman
★ Gulf of Suez
★ That portion of the Mediterranean Sea east of 28 degrees east longitude
★ Persian Gulf
★ Red Sea
★ Strait of Hormuz
★ Suez Canal

Medals of America offers a large selection of military medals, including the GWOT medal, as well as military badges, military dog tags, and rank, rates and insignia for active and retired service members.

Part 2 - Gwot Medal - Expeditionary and Service Design Changes!, 10.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
There are 2 comments for this article
  1. Pingback: Part 2 – Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal and Service Medal Design Changes! « Medals of America
  2. Pingback: Global War on Terrorism Service Medal | Medals of America

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *